New Class of Soldiers Graduate Georgia SDF Basic Training

The Georgia State Defense Force recently graduated a new class of soldiers from their Initial Entry Training (Basic Training) Course. Initial Entry Training is a course designed to teach new recruits, who have never served in the military, the basics of military procedure and training. It is composed of Basic Soldiering Skills and is designed to reflect the basic training conditions of the United States Military. Recruits learn the core fundamentals of how the military operates from Chain of Command, Physical Training to Drill & Ceremony, so when these new soldiers are activated they can seamlessly work side by side with National Guard soldiers. After graduation the troops will return to their home units to continue training and stand ready for when called.

The Commanding General of The Georgia State Defense Force, Brigadier General Mark Gelhardt was the keynote speaker during the graduation ceremony. He had the opportunity to congratulate the soldiers for graduating and thank them for their service.

On April 2nd, 2023 Class Bravo-23 graduated from their Initial Entry Training (IET). The training was held at the Southern Regional Training Institute in Ashburn, Georgia.
The Distinguished Honor Graduate was PV2 Scott Eason. 1LT Travis Bryan was voted on by his peers and the cadre to receive the Leadership Award and PV2 Jared Roach earned the Academic Award of Excellence.
The GASDF Commanding General, BG Mark Gelhardt was on hand for the ceremony and spent time before graduation speaking with each new Soldier individually. BG Gelhardt also served as the keynote speaker.
LTC Lynwood Yates is the RTI Commander and MSG Drew Kearns is the NCOIC. SGT Steven Anderson, SGT Corey Jackson, SPC Carolyn Kearns and SPC Bradley Barker served as IET Cadre.
The Soldiers have all been assigned to the 4th Brigade of the Georgia State Defense Force.


Source: Georgia State Defense Force

Tags: No tags

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *